Skip to content

For our Southern Hemisphere Readers…a crochet scarf / cowl pattern

07.5.2010

I am sure at some point in my schooling I knew that NOT everywhere on this planet had seasons when we in the Adirondacks of NY  do, but over the years I have been jaded with my own seasons and forgot about that IMPORTANT FACT! Wikipedia tells me (god bless that site HAHAHA) that the Southern Hemisphere of the world (below the equator), celebrates  Summer from December 21 to March 21, and Winter from June 21 to September 22. September 22 is the vernal equinox and March 21 is the autumnal equinox. Just a little geography refresher for anyone not in the know like myself.

That being said, I would like to thank “Pipsqueak”for her comment on our post asking for your opinions

“I actually quite like it as it is! The only thing I’d like to see would be a section for your Southern Hemisphere readers – as obviously our seasons are the other way around to yours.

Looking forward to future editions.”

Right then a lightbulb went off, and I felt like a dummy.

So in an effort to redeem my Mea Culpa, I am posting my own pattern for an easy crochet scarf~for those celebrating Winter now!

KEY

CH-CHAIN
DC-DOUBLE CROCHET
SK- SKIP
SC-SINGLE CROCHET
HOOK: G
YARN: BERNAT ALPACA NATURAL BLENDS
(1 SKEIN TOTAL)

PATTERN:

Please note- every (-) DASH indicates the beginning of another row

-CH 16
-PLACE 3 DC IN THE 4TH CH FROM THE HOOK, SK 3 CH, SC IN THE NEXT CH, CH 3, AND THEN PLACE 3 DC IN THE SAME STITCH YOU JUST SC’D IN, SK 3 CH, SC IN THE NEXT CH, CH 3, THEN PLACE 3 DC IN THE SAME STITCH YOU JUST SC’D IN, SK 3 CH, SC IN THE LAST CH
-CH 3, PLACE 3 DC IN THE SC YOU JUST DID, SC IN THE NEXT CH 3 SPACE, CH 3, PLACE 3 DC IN THE SAME CH 3 SPACE, SC IN THE NEXT CH 3 SPACE, CH 3, PLACE 3 DC IN THE SAME CH 3 SPACE, SC IN THE LAST CH 3 SPACE.
THEN REPEAT THE ABOVE ROW FOR 38 MORE ROWS FOR THE LENGTH OF THE PATTERN I MADE, OR LONGER OR SHORTER ACCORDING TO YOUR TASTE.
WHEN YOU REACH YOUR DESIRED LENGTH, FASTEN OFF, AND HIDE TAILS
ATTACH A BUTTON TO THE FLAT EDGE OF THE SCARF (THE SIDE YOU BEGAN ON, NOT THE ONE YOU JUST FINISHED), ABOUT 5 ROWS UP AND IN THE CENTER.  OR YOU CAN PLACE IT WHERE YOU WOULD LIKE IT.
Happy Winter to all of you lovely Southern Hemisphere followers and readers of the Rhythm of the Home!  Laura
16 Comments leave one →
  1. 07.5.2010 4:10 am

    Beautiful. Wrapped up in a warm blanket – greetings from Sydney, Australia – I can actually look at this post very comfortably. All of the weblogs with people swimming etc run a chill up my spine & are just too hard to bear – ha ha. Thank you for the lovely patterns & very considerate thoughts, very sweet of you. Katie x

    • 07.5.2010 4:15 am

      Katie, you are very welcome! Thanks for your comment~Stay warm, and snuggled up~Laura

  2. 07.5.2010 4:15 pm

    Thank you so much for posting this! I hav been looking for a pattern for a cowl/scarf to replace my ratty scarf but nothing quite ticks all the boxes – it has to be able to occasionally pull up to cover my chin/mouth when I’m walking in the southerly wind! This is one of those “why didn’t I think of that” sort of scarves!

    • 07.5.2010 6:08 pm

      Steph, glad you like it! Now go whip it up and enjoy that fresh air! Thanks for the comment!~Laura

  3. Pipsqueak permalink
    07.5.2010 8:02 pm

    Thank you for responding to my comments so quickly; I really didn’t expect that … Now the ball is in my court to have a go at crocheting! Is this an OK pattern for a beginner?

    • 07.6.2010 2:18 am

      Hi Pippa, You are very welcome, and thanks for the eye opener! Yes, this is a very easy pattern. Should you have any questions about any of the stitches, type the name of stitch into youtube and you will be inundated with helpful videos! Please let me know if you have any questions, and I will be glad to help! Laura

  4. Emma permalink
    07.5.2010 11:16 pm

    with yet another frosty day on our hands here in Ballarat, Australia, your post designed especially for us ‘southerners’ is most welcome!

  5. alice permalink
    07.6.2010 1:10 am

    Yea! As a reader from Sydney, this was great to see. I might even give it a go at our new yarn/coffee shop up the street this winter. Thanks!

  6. elflyn permalink
    07.6.2010 4:13 am

    Actually in Australia our seasons begin on the 1st of the month not the 21st like in the Northern hemisphere.
    Summer is from December 1 to March 1
    Autumn from March 1 to June 1
    Winter from June 1 to September 1
    Spring from September 1 to December 1
    Just to clarify.

  7. alice permalink
    07.6.2010 5:21 am

    Too funny. Suffice it to say, it’s cold down here when it’s hot up there!

  8. 07.6.2010 7:00 pm

    Thank you from cold Tasmania, Australia. Still I’d like to see a neck warmer that looks good with double chins!!

  9. jenny permalink
    07.7.2010 12:00 am

    oh cool! i’ve been hanging out for the six months till i could use the winter 09 issue.
    thanks for remembering us 🙂

Leave a Reply

