Skip to content

Counting Bean Bags Tutorial…Guest Writer Holly of Chez Beeper Bebe

07.4.2010

Happy 4th Of July Everyone!  Hope you all have a safe Holiday~Laura

Welcome to Holly who is sharing with us her Tutorial on making your own Counting Bean Bags for the little ones.

A little on Holly…


Outfitted with sketchy knowledge of toy design at best and a hand-
me-down sewing machine, I began designing plushies back in
2005, naming my little company Beeper Bébé. Today, I design all
manner of toys and other things, usually incorporating secondhand
or recycled stuff, and love to share tutorials on my blog. I have one
gorgeously energetic 6-year-old boy who is a continual inspiration
(and disruption) to my design endeavors. I live in Minneapolis.
Future goals of mine include moving to France with my family,
becoming a cowgirl, finishing that novel I started writing 15 years ago,
learning to quilt, redesigning Little People for Fisher Price so that they can
be as cool again as they once were, and drinking scotch on my back
step—not necessarily in that order though.

****************************************************************************

Tutorial and Pattern: Counting Bean Bags

I have to confess that I am positively in love with these counting bean bags I designed over the holidays (yes, yes, calling making bean bags designing is a bit of a stretch–I know)–I love the white muslin fronts with the bright applique numbers and the way they feel in your hand and their sweet simplicity. They just seem wholesome and good somehow. You get that, right?

Of course, they are bean bags, so they are pretty simple to make, just a few supplies needed–the applique numbers do add an extra bit, but I think they make these little bags what they are. And if you want to make your own set, well, I happen to have put together a little tutorial and pattern for you:
DOWNLOAD COUNTING BEAN BAG TUTORIAL

I know, they are just bean bags, nothing revolutionary about that–but bean bags are versatile and classic. Just a few ideas for how you can put these lovely little sacks of beans to use:
  • Pleasantly tactile for babies
  • Stacking for toddlers
  • Well-sized for gnawing and teething
  • Learning numbers and counting for the pre-school set
  • Addition or subtraction drills for the elementary school set
  • Toss the bean bag in the bowl types of games–you win the number of points appliqued on the bean bag for each you land in the bowl
  • Perfectly sized for throwing across the room at people when they either say rude things or you need their attention–also, they won’t leave marks on the face.

    See what I mean? The possibilities are endless.
*******************************************************************************
Thanks again to Holly for her sharing this post.
For more on Holly visit her
Blog: Chez Beeper Bebe
or
Shop: Beeper Bebe Etsy Shop
8 Comments leave one →
  1. 07.4.2010 10:30 am

    Oh I love these! Perfect use for some pretty scrap fabric right? I know a little gal that must have a set. Thanks for the tutorial…

  2. 07.4.2010 7:06 pm

    These are right up our alley – thanks for sharing this!!

    • 07.4.2010 7:52 pm

      Mari-Ann, glad you liked it! Send us your finished pictures when you make them! Laura

  3. 07.6.2010 1:05 pm

    I love these. A project in my near future for sure.
    Thanks.

  4. 07.8.2010 12:42 am

    I love her blog & have totally made those number bean bags! Such a talented person for sure.

Leave a Reply

