Skip to content

Pampering the Mama’s…Homemade Body Spray Recipe!

06.22.2010

Meagan was generous enough  to share this AMAZING recipe! So many times as mamas we focus on the little ones in our lives, and forget about dare I say…US?!?!?!

I say it is high time that we TAKE SOME TIME FOR US!  Even if it is just a spritz…or two

**************************************************************************************************

First a bit about Meagan

Meagan is first and foremost a mama (and mama-t0-be), a wife, a green cleaner and vegetarian chef, a writer, a yoga teacher, an animal rights activist and an English teacher pre-children. She enjoys shopping, vegan baking and her newfound hobbies- sewing, knitting and photography. Whether you find her in the park, drawing with crayons, reading a book or at the computer it is guaranteed she will have a homemade soy chai in hand.

*********************************************************************************

Home Made Body Spray Recipe

This body spray was the perfect green beauty fix. The scent is subtle enough that you can use it as a spritzer to keep in your bag as a pick me up throughout the day, and without any harmful chemicals or strong smells, no one at the office or on the bus will be coughing and cursing you under their breath for burning their nostrils.

You can try it with any flower blossoms you like. I would love to try frangipani or jasmine next time.

My Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups rose blossoms

2 cups water

Directions:

Put blossoms in pot with 2 cups water and bring to a boil

Turn the heat down and allow to simmer for 2 1/2 hours

Then, turn off heat and let the water cool

Place some muslin or cheesecloth into a strainer and strain the pulpy water through until all the pulp is removed and you are left with just the water

Pour the water into a perfume bottle and add more water to desired scent potency

Use when cool.

Keeps for about a month give or take.

Enjoy!

********************************************************************

A special AHHHHHHHHHHHHHH, and Thank You to Meagan for sharing this post with our Blog Family!

Ohhhhhh…please email (rhythmofthehomeblog@gmail.com) us with your versions!  Maybe we can become a Mini-Estee Lauder! HEHEHE

To learn more about Meagan please visit her in her space…

Her blog, ecoMILF captures her daily life as a Mother taking steps towards a more sustainable, compassionate and conscious life.  CHECK IT OUT!



23 Comments leave one →
  1. Elizabeth permalink
    06.22.2010 4:44 am

    I love this idea!! Thank you so much for this posting and introducing me to such another great resource on how I choose to live my life.epdeans@yahoo.com

  2. 06.22.2010 5:25 am

    I love Meagan’s blog! I have been following it for a while. How cool to see it on another blog I love! This looks like such an easy recipe. I will have to give it a try.

    • 06.22.2010 5:59 am

      Olga…thanks for commenting! I was newly introduced to her blog too, and it is FAB-U-LOUS! Now I have to go check yours out! Laura

  3. 06.22.2010 5:52 am

    This looks absolutely divine! Thanks for such a great and simple idea, we’ll be trying this soon!

  4. 06.22.2010 8:29 am

    This is looks awesomely easy. We have a ton of roses out front, so this is perfect for us. THanks. 🙂

    • 06.22.2010 9:53 am

      WOW, I wish I had roses in my front lawn. I have some pansey’s wonder how that would work. Thanks for commenting~Laura

  5. 06.22.2010 1:10 pm

    That is so great! Wednesday my children wave goodbye to their Waldorf teachers, and i know what the teachers will get as summerpresent 😉

    Thank you, Meagan!

    • 06.22.2010 1:21 pm

      GREAT IDEA!!!!!!!!!! I bet they will love that, and maybe the kids can help too! Enjoy~Laura

  6. 06.22.2010 3:18 pm

    After following Meagan via her wonderful blog it was lovely to find her featured here.
    She is full of ‘oh-so-simple’ ideas like this one is generous to share them with us to make our lives more beautiful.
    Thank you for featuring her here.

    Felicity

    PS Now I have to make a date to raid my mother’s rose garden x

    • 06.22.2010 3:52 pm

      “More beautiful” indeed! Raid away Felicity, give her a bottle too perhaps! Thanks for commenting~Laura

  7. 06.22.2010 5:04 pm

    Thanks everyone for your lovely comments. I hope the recipe inspires you to take time to smell the roses and small LIKE the roses. : ) xo m.

    • 06.22.2010 5:34 pm

      Smell the roses indeed..I have a few Primroses I need to bottle up! Thanks again for sharing~Laura

  8. 06.22.2010 5:43 pm

    lovely!

  9. 06.22.2010 11:23 pm

    That is such a great idea!
    My kids are always making potions from flower petals and water and anything else they can get their hands on. I love the idea of along with them turning their potions into some perfume we can bottle and use through out our days
    Thanks for the post Meagan.

    • 06.23.2010 10:44 am

      Potions and Perfumes…that would be a good name for a shop! Glad you liked the post! Laura

  10. 06.23.2010 12:51 am

    I enjoy Meagan’s blog – it is hard work to live simply … I am constantly amazed by her achievements!

    • 06.23.2010 10:43 am

      Living simply seems harder than to live complicated sometimes…did that make sense…HEHEHEHE!!!

  11. amandab75 permalink
    06.23.2010 3:56 am

    I am going to make sure we plant some fragran flowers when we do our garden just to make this. When a certaib 4 yo is obsesses with using perfume it’s nice to know we can make our own and not have to deal with all the yukky ingredients! Thank you!

Trackbacks

  1. Homemade Rose Body Spray | Inspire Mama

Leave a Reply

