Skip to content

A repurposed play kitchen…guest writer Erin Woodward of Sutton Grace

04.22.2010

Being that today is Earth Day, we wanted to share a wonderful idea for repurposing in the home.  Furniture is something that really fills up landfills fast, it is so big and bulky.  Thankfully, Erin of Sutton Grace has come up with a wonderful way to get a few more years of use out of a piece of furniture before that it makes it’s way into a landfill…. by turning a dated entertainment center into a uber-cool looking play kitchen!


A bit about Erin….


My name is Erin. I am a mother of three and I love to create! Whether I am sewing, cooking, baking, painting or crafting I am always making something! I especially love to breathe new life into thrift store treasures and hand-me-downs.

****************************************************************************

Repurposed Play Kitchen

Remember this?

well, it’s finished:

Yesterday was my daughter’s third birthday. This play kitchen was what I made for her. She calls it her “chicken”, meaning kitchen.

This is how I turned an entertainment center into a play kitchen-

1. Took the doors and the back off and removed center wall/support.
2. Re-enforced the unit with some 1×2’s and 2X2’s and plywood for the back.

3. Cut the hole for the sink.
4. Cut the hole for the window in the oven door.

6. Added filler pieces under sink and beside oven.
7. Drilled holes for stove and oven knobs.

8. Replaced decorative piece on bottom because it was ug-ly!
9. Used wood filler in grooves on dishwasher door for same reason as #8.

10. Cut and painted trim for window
11. Primed entire kitchen
12. Painted the blue sections of kitchen

13. Painted stove and oven and doors for oven and dishwasher with “Aluminum” spray paint.
14. Painted counter and back splash area a glossy white.

15. Spray painted yogurt and formula lids for stove burners black.
16. Put it all together- glued on window picture (thanks mom and dad for the print!), installed window trim, installed sink, attached knobs and burners, attached hardware to doors and installed doors (hinges added to the bottom and magnetic closures on top so doors open the same way ovens and dishwashers do), attached pot rack.

17. Sewed and installed curtains.

I still need to caulk and touch-up paint the window.

This was such a fun project for me. It was a big one! It was the first time I have used power tools (like the table saw) on my own. The first day I worked on it (taking it apart and reinforcing the structure) I was lucky enough to have my mom visiting. She has been building/creating all my life. If she wants to make something and doesn’t know how, then she teaches herself or makes it up as she goes. She is a great inspiration to me! Surprisingly, this was the first time we have worked on a project together. It was a great experience!

The total cost was approximately $65. The entertainment center was $20- craigslist. The sink and faucet $15, knobs $4 and blue paint $4- all from the Habitat for Humanity ReStore. I tried to use things we already owned- handles, fabric, pot rack, window trim. About another $25 for plywood, magnetic closures, spray paint, nuts, bolts, washers, plexiglass etc.

It’s been a huge hit! The girl loves her new kitchen. My six year old boy thinks it’s great fun too.

****************************************************************************

Thank you so much Erin for sharing this with us!

If you would like to learn more about Erin please visit her at her space…

Sutton Grace

29 Comments leave one →
  1. 04.22.2010 10:34 am

    oh. my. goodness. this is GREAT!!!!!!

  2. 04.22.2010 10:38 am

    This is amazing!

  3. 04.22.2010 10:40 am

    Awesome! 🙂

  4. Sara permalink
    04.22.2010 10:45 am

    What a great job! Love it!

  5. 04.22.2010 10:56 am

    What a great re-purposing!

  6. 04.22.2010 11:21 am

    This is all sorts of awesome! What lucky kiddo you have!

  7. 04.22.2010 11:48 am

    Wow! That is awesome.

  8. 04.22.2010 12:04 pm

    This is awesome! I love the colors and the window!

  9. 04.22.2010 12:57 pm

    OMG…I WANT THIS FOR ME! What a creative, awesome handy woman! Thanks for sharing~Laura

  10. Cristy permalink
    04.22.2010 1:35 pm

    Wow! That’s beautiful! We had the same idea and turned our old tv stand into a little kitchen set too…. however, yours is much more impressive! Great idea mama!

  11. alice permalink
    04.22.2010 4:34 pm

    Oh my, this is a true labor of love. this reminds me so much of the kind of over-the-top things my mother would do and make for me, and to this day, 40-odd years later, I treasure the memories. You’ve done a beautiful job here, too!

  12. Gretchen Federici permalink
    04.22.2010 6:38 pm

    Wonderful! I’m so impressed! I made a stove from a dehumidifier for my two year-old that’s pretty cool, but this is truly incredible. If I move into a larger house, I’ll make your version for sure!

  13. 04.22.2010 11:36 pm

    This is awesome! turned out great! Thanks for sharing how you made it too:)

  14. Michele de Jesus permalink
    04.23.2010 12:22 am

    Wow, impressive! Such creative repurposing! How inspired! I’ve been brainstorming play kitchen designs for my little guy but hadn’t thought of anything near this and my background is in modern architecture! I’d like to encourage people inspired by this to use low-VOC paints. VOC stands for volatile organic compounds, bad stuff that can offgas for a very long time polluting your home’s indoor air quality, the air your kiddies breathe in. There are soo many low-VOC paints out there now. Not sure if they’re available in spray paint versions but its worth looking into your options.

  15. Tara permalink
    04.24.2010 11:07 am

    This is amazing- your such a handy-mom!!
    Where did you get the tiny sink??

  16. 04.24.2010 5:05 pm

    Oh I love it!! I am going to try this, we have a tv stand just sitting in the basement waiting for a purpose and a little girl who needs a play kitchen!

  17. 04.26.2010 1:06 pm

    Inspirational! What a fantastic idea. A play kitchen is such a great toy for young children giving lots of play possibilities. My girls would love to play with this one.

  18. Cat *Autumn* Carter permalink
    04.27.2010 5:07 pm

    That is fabulous!

  19. 04.28.2010 7:27 pm

    Wow! This is very inspiring – how proud of yourself you should be! What a lucky little dollie!

  20. Char permalink
    04.29.2010 3:22 pm

    Wow! Really fantastic!

  21. 05.4.2010 4:24 pm

    This is seriously a dynamite idea! I LOVE that you looked at this piece of furniture most would probably junk and saw the potential – what fun!

    🙂 Awesome!

  22. Heather permalink
    05.9.2010 2:17 pm

    Gorgeous! It looks better than my kitchen!

  23. Lisa permalink
    05.14.2010 7:21 am

    That is brilliant! Love the outcome and all the love that went into it.

  24. 05.16.2010 6:28 am

    Impressive!!!

  25. 05.17.2010 3:01 am

    Breathtakingly Fantastic! I am so impressed and inspired, thank you so much for sharing this, its wonderful!

  26. Johannes Lankreijer permalink
    05.18.2010 7:02 pm

    Jocelyne are you feeding me ideas with hope? Looks great. Love Dad

  27. 05.19.2010 7:49 pm

    VERY impressive! You should totally share this over at Knock-off Wood http://www.knock-offwood.com/

    Ana would appreciate it! Way to go on the powertools..they really do EMpower you, don’t they? 🙂

  28. Carla permalink
    05.24.2010 10:23 am

    This is so cool! I would love to make one of these someday, or something like it. It is giving me lost of ideas. Thanks for posting this, it is too good to not be seen on the internet!

  29. 07.9.2010 8:02 am

    Wow! This is just amazingly awesome. It just goes to show, one can do almost anything to reclaim a piece of old furniture!

    :)Lisa

Leave a Reply

