Skip to content

Children and nature awareness month….AND a Giveaway!

04.9.2010

Have you seen this?!?!?!?

What a great idea!

A whole month of getting outside with our kids…. what could be better than that? Leave it to Richard Louv to think up such a great declaration.  And leave it to the FABULOUSLY inspiring 5 Orange Potatoes to come up with a challenge for us all to join in on.

Eben and I have decided to take The Great Outdoor Challenge (on the days when I’m not working my 13 hour shift at the hospital, that is…).

Won’t you join us?!?!?!?!?

Here is a link to the post with the information on how to join over at 5 Orange Potatoes….

Nature Challenge

And here is the link to the post with the Button to put on your blog.

BUTTON

*********************************************************************************************

AND NOW FOR THE GIVEAWAY….

I got this book when it first hit our local bookstore 4 years ago. I have read it back to front…. and front to back ( well actually, that was how I read it the first time, hee,hee).  I have learned so much from it’s pages and have now decided that it is time to pass it on to another family. A family with a yearning to understand more about the importance that nature has on our kid’s physical, social,and emotional well being.

So, if you are a fan of hand-me-downs and don’t mind earmarked pages (I promise, it is in good condition)….just comment here and on Sunday we will pick a winner.

Have a wonderful Weekend!

62 Comments
  1. anie permalink
    04.9.2010 3:40 am

    Probably just what I need for the days when it is hard to dress two children to go outside…

  2. 04.9.2010 3:57 am

    Hello. Thank you for the opportunity to win your well-loved book. It will help keep the economical rationalists itching at night time (ha ha). Very kind & generous of you to give it away. Thanks again, Katie.

  3. Mélanie permalink
    04.9.2010 4:19 am

    What a great givaway, just in time for the nice weather starting up here in Canada! I love that you’re giving away your own book. That’s very generous, way to pay it forward 🙂

  4. 04.9.2010 4:36 am

    I actually just started reading Louv’s book for the first time about a week ago. So far, I absolutely love what he has to say. So much of it is already obvious to me on some level from my experiences as a public school teacher, but his way of writing it makes me notice things in a way that I haven’t really before. We’ll definitely join the challenge group!

  5. 04.9.2010 4:36 am

    Thank you for your generosity~! I’ve heard so much about this book…

  6. 04.9.2010 4:37 am

    Oh I love hand me downs – a this book would be fabulous to win. My fingers are crossed!

  7. Pumpkinpie permalink
    04.9.2010 4:39 am

    Haven’t seen this book before – but would love to have a read – even though the weather in Australia is begining to get a bit cooler.

  8. attachlings permalink
    04.9.2010 4:51 am

    Lovely idea!
    I adore that book.
    But don’t enter me in the drawing since I already own a copy.
    blessings,
    Mary

  9. 04.9.2010 4:52 am

    What a clever title! I’d really appreciate being able to read this and sending it off to our local library.

  10. 04.9.2010 4:53 am

    Would love to win! Heading over to 5 Orange Potatoes to check it out!

  11. 04.9.2010 4:55 am

    Living in a big city like London, I often miss the great outdoors. I try to make sure my little guy doesn’t miss out!

  12. Denise permalink
    04.9.2010 5:30 am

    I would love to read this book. As my kids are getting older, it is even harder to get them outside.

  13. 04.9.2010 5:38 am

    I am new to this fab blog and it has re-inspired me to begin blogging again as well as to make some big changes in the direction of my authentic life!
    Thank you, this is awesome!
    e.

  14. Jenny permalink
    04.9.2010 5:40 am

    This book is on my list of “to reads.” We live in Milwaukee Wisconsin and sometimes during the winter it’s hard to get outside. Big and small people alike need this book.

  15. bloomingheather permalink
    04.9.2010 5:41 am

    I’d love a copy of this book. I’ve only checked it out from the library 10 times. ;))

  16. allison Van Wyk Wanaselja permalink
    04.9.2010 5:46 am

    i just read I love dirt! a book of ideas and activities designed to get families out in the woods and into the dirt and there’s a forward from the author of last child in the woods. so i haven’t read last child in the woods and would love to read this important work!

  17. amy permalink
    04.9.2010 5:56 am

    love this challenge! we have an early spring here in the maritimes and my son has been outdoors most of the day the past week or two!
    this book has been on my -to read- list forever. my partner borrowed it from the library last year, but i didn’t get a chance to read it. would love to have a copy!

  18. 04.9.2010 6:08 am

    Hi, I would love to win this book, earmarks and all. I think that getting out into nature is something a lot of children are missing and it is something which was very special to me as a girl growing up in suburbia. I take my youngest child to the wild beaches and woods as much as I can, and I am so eager to spread the word that I wrote a special photo essay about it for Donni at Magic Onions for her special waldorf series. (It was her super idea.) It’s called “I Am a Child of Nature”, and you can find it on Acorn Pies if you want to read it. I can vouch for how strong and creative and confident playing in nature helps my son to be. love, Beth

  19. 04.9.2010 6:12 am

    i’d love to read this. nature is so important to my kiddos, i need to join in on the challenge also!!

    Thanks!

  20. Stacy Robinson permalink
    04.9.2010 6:30 am

    I agree that children need to be out in nature more. It is getting harder all the time. Between parents work schedules and kids extra curricular activities, nature is losing out. I have never heard of this book, but it looks like an interesting read.

  21. Melanie permalink
    04.9.2010 6:35 am

    This is been on my need-to-read list for a LONG time! Thank you!

  22. 04.9.2010 6:35 am

    I have heard so much about this book and keep meaning to read it. It was the basis for the nature classroom at our old school, and what I have in the back of my mind as I work on bringing a nature classroom to our new school. Would love to see all the spots you’ve earmarked.

  23. 04.9.2010 6:42 am

    yay! i have yet to read this book. i would love to add it to our parent library also. thanks for the opportunity! and for the reminder to join in with lisa. 😉

  24. OrganisedPauper permalink
    04.9.2010 7:06 am

    Living in a very urban environment and home educating we’re probably more conscious of the need to be mindful of nature than most. I’m sure this book would give us more ideas that we could use and also pass on to other home educators.

  25. 04.9.2010 7:09 am

    I love this book- but I had to return it to the library. Please enter me! 🙂

  26. 04.9.2010 7:19 am

    Thanks for more exposure for such an important, but simple idea of getting out children outside! Love the giveaway!!!! Great idea and a wonderful book! Don’t enter me in the drawing though, already own it.

    lisa

  27. Rebecca permalink
    04.9.2010 7:22 am

    Sounds like a great book. I have two very young boys and know this would be a great source of inspiration for us!

  28. Kate R permalink
    04.9.2010 7:23 am

    This has been on my “to-read” list for quite a while. We currently live in an area that is not so young child friendly in terms of wandering outside and I would love to learn of new ideas that could help my two girls have the same kind of outside playtime that I was privileged to have growing up. Thank you for the giveaway!

  29. Danielle permalink
    04.9.2010 7:45 am

    We need this – the kids need to be outside so much more. They’re missing important learning milestones! Thanks for the giveaway!

  30. Herbwifemama permalink
    04.9.2010 7:56 am

    I would love to own this book! 🙂

  31. Dana permalink
    04.9.2010 8:08 am

    My book looks just like yours….earmarked allll over! Love it!

  32. 04.9.2010 8:23 am

    Would love to give it a “new” home!

  33. 04.9.2010 8:30 am

    Fingers crossed. It is a book I can’t believe I haven’t read! It is on my library list!
    (Julia, I have left a couple of comments on your personal blog. Hope they come through this time.)
    Nicola

  34. 04.9.2010 8:38 am

    I would love to read this! And, yes, we’re already doing the challenge. I think it’s a wonderful idea.

  35. 04.9.2010 8:45 am

    What a lovely giveaway! I would love to read that book! ♥

  36. Agnes Wong permalink
    04.9.2010 9:00 am

    Thanks for the chance to win this book!

  37. 04.9.2010 9:05 am

    This sounds like something we would really enjoy! Thanks for the chance to win! We love second hand everything! 🙂

  38. 04.9.2010 9:20 am

    What a great giveaway! I’ve been eyeing this book lately and just haven’t bought it yet. I’d love to win it. Thank you!

  39. Holly permalink
    04.9.2010 10:22 am

    Would love to read this book!

  40. 04.9.2010 10:51 am

    This one has been on my wishlist for a couple of months now! I’d love to read it.

  41. emmalina73 permalink
    04.9.2010 11:29 am

    What a lovely idea, to pass on something that has been so valuable to your family.

  42. Ali permalink
    04.9.2010 11:32 am

    Hi – I love this challenge too – it’s got me out in our TINY yard everyday with the kids now just pottering, eating, drawing and so on. And because we only have room for a few tubs we have studied every aspect of those tubs in SO much detail. We can talk from memory about what is in which tub and how it’s doing and how many worms we saw today and so on. Anyway, I have read this book but don’t have me own copy and would love to have one to share with the other Mums at the Waldorf parent and child group I co-run. Thank you for the give-away.

  43. 04.9.2010 11:37 am

    It’s springtime and the woods next to our house are calling my boy’s name! Great giveaway

  44. 04.9.2010 12:31 pm

    This has been on my to-read list for a long time! I would love to win a copy. Thanks!

  45. Missy permalink
    04.9.2010 12:35 pm

    I have been wanting to read this book for a while now- hope I win! 🙂

  46. 04.9.2010 12:40 pm

    I love this book! I think it’s time for me to re-read it!

  47. Susannah permalink
    04.9.2010 4:45 pm

    fabulous book — have borrowed it from the library but would love to own it!

  48. 04.10.2010 12:47 am

    That looks like an amazing book! I often feel that my kids are missing out on the nature i was exposed to as a kid. I spent a lot of time on a farm running wild, It makes me really sad that they don’t have that. So i’d like to help them experience as much as i can. I hope that once we move house we’ll have more opportunity.
    Sal. X

  49. 04.10.2010 4:47 am

    Jules…thanks for the inspiration…just posted a button, a link, and a post…DONE!

    I need this~you know I do!

  50. Marylea permalink
    04.10.2010 5:49 am

    This book has been on my wish list for 2 years but I can’t find a copy at my local used book nook!

  51. Julie permalink
    04.10.2010 7:31 am

    This book has been on my to read list for a long time. Thanks for the chance!

  52. 04.10.2010 7:52 am

    Been wanting to pick this book up for a while. Used books are way better! They have energy in them!
    Off to join the challenge…
    xoxo

  53. 04.10.2010 9:05 am

    I was so hoping for this book for my birthday yesterday ( the 9th ) but never got it, so would adore to be so lucky to read yours.
    all love & out door fun
    x

  54. 04.10.2010 9:42 am

    Oh, I have been meaning to read this book for a while now, if I don’t win I am going to get a move on a read it already! Thanks for the push 🙂

  55. 04.10.2010 11:35 am

    A well loved book! I’m in!

  56. 04.10.2010 1:18 pm

    oh me! i’ve been wanting this book for so long. even though never reading it, it help inspired my believing nature blog (http://believingnature.wordpress.com).
    this may be just me, but i think it’s extra special because it’s not a brand new book but a very much loved book that has imparted so much wisdom…

  57. Beth permalink
    04.10.2010 5:28 pm

    I would love to have this! Sadly, it’s one I’ve checked out from the library at least once but haven’t finished.

  58. Erin permalink
    04.10.2010 5:30 pm

    This book has been on my to-be-read list since it came out. We’re big on being outside around here, but I always feel like I could do more. Really, since the weather has gotten nicer, I’ve been wanting my boys (and me!) to spend even more time outdoors. I’m off to the library this week to check this book out — unless, of course, I win ;-). Thanks for the generous giveaway and the kick in the pants.

  59. 04.10.2010 6:58 pm

    I’d love to read this book! Thanks for such a great giveaway. 🙂

  60. 04.11.2010 5:00 am

    I have wanted to read this book!

    I recently borrowed an earmarked book from a friend – I loved seeing what she marked as important or interesting. There’s nothing better than a well-loved book.

  61. 04.11.2010 7:22 am

    Thanks for the giveaway. I have joined the challenge! So good to focus on getting outdoors!

Trackbacks

  1. dandelion goddess- outdoor challenge day 5 | 5 Orange Potatoes

Comments are closed.

