Skip to content

Innate Knowledge…

03.30.2010

A few times a month we will be featuring a guest writer who has written a post that we feel resonates with the Rhythm of the Home community.

This week, we are so thrilled to welcome Lisa DeNardo as our guest writer.


Lisa DeNardo is a mother to four residing in South Eastern Pennsylvania. She loves taking pictures, being outdoors admiring the natural beauty of nature, and enjoys sharing all of the little, and big, moments in life with her amazing children and wonderful husband.  She is the writer of the completely lovely and always inspiring Blog Earth Mama where she shares her family adventures as well as insight into their path towards becoming more self sustainable.

Below is a beautiful post from Lisa called….

Innate Knowledge

I’ve noticed that the buds on the old maple tree are starting to bloom. Just one week ago, they became plump and bright, coming out of their winter protective layer. Now, despite the earliness of spring, they are blooming into their next stage of being.

Nature never ceases to amaze me with it’s innate knowledge deep within…it’s inner knowledge of the precise time to move forward. We have several other maple trees in our yard, and over the years, I have noticed that they unfold in their own time, usually a week or so after the older maple tree.


Despite different timing, I trust that each tree unfurls it’s leaves and blossoms at exactly the right moment for it’s personal stage of growth. Nature, and all of it’s precision, is an amazing miracle, perhaps not fully touchable by man.


I sit often and observe my one year old, admiring his great interest in learning about the world around him. The other day I watched as he unscrewed a bolt, and worked at aligning it back into the place he had unscrewed it from.

After examining it for a minute, he got up, and brought back a gallon jug from a bag of recycling that had a screw top. After pondering these objects a few seconds more, he proceeded to go to a drawer in the kitchen and get a small honey jar lid. At this point my heart was swelling with sheer awe…of this beautiful process of learning that was happening right before my eyes.


I watched intently (and snapped some pictures), as Lake tried to screw the honey jar lid onto the jug. He had made the connection of similar items having similar parts and functions. He had come up with a plan, in that one year old brain of his, and went to various parts of the house to collect the pieces he needed to play out his thought process.

This to me…was a show of complete brilliance. Not just of my son, but of the innate knowledge that lies within the human nature. I am a firm believer that when we are born, we possess a strong drive to learn, create, and be one within our world. I know deep down that we have the same innate knowledge that nature holds…we too can be free, and timely, and well balanced, unfurling our leaves in our own time. I am always head over heels in love and awe watching my children absorb the lessons in the world around them. I consider myself to be one lucky mama watching the greatest show on earth.

Yes, you are one lucky Mama Lisa…Yes you are.

Thank you so much for sharing your words with us today.

More about Lisa and her family’s adventures can be found on her blog Earth Mama, as well as, some thoughts on mindfulness at Threading Light.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 03.30.2010 6:39 am

    A beautiful post. Love the chubby knees and fingers and the connections that babies make.

  2. 03.30.2010 7:50 am

    I so needed these words today.

    After a particularly challenging doctors appointment this morning where my parenting approach was questioned and it was suggested that I have created bad habits in my one year old, I came home on the verge of tears. Concerned for my little one who is struggling to sleep, concerned that we might be missing something.

    But this post at this moment is a reminder to me. He will unfurl. He will develop. He will sleep through the night. At his own pace, in his own way, andCas his parents we get the pleasure of being there with him as he does.

    Thank you.

  3. 03.30.2010 9:39 am

    Somehow I missed this when you posted it on your blog so I am grateful to be able to read it today here. Really beautiful post…I was thinking along similar lines today as I watched Jude paint and reflected on how his art has evolved. I do the same thing with my husband’s work. It is amazing to watch someone little or big grow and stretch and learn and create. Definitely the greatest show on earth if you are tuned into it.

  4. 03.31.2010 10:44 am

    I love watching my little guy ‘figure things out’ and this post just rings home with me.
    beautiful.

    be well~

Leave a Reply

